And The Winner Is...

It wasn't that long ago that we clued readers into the rapidly diminishing time to get a nomination in to be Debian's (Fearless) Project Leader. Like a whirlwind, that time has run out, the votes have been cast, and the lucky fellow is...

...none other than outgoing Debian Project Leader Steve McIntyre!

McIntyre, who edged out Stefano Zacchiroli to clench the post, is only the third incumbent to win re-election as Debian Project Leader, joining Martin Michlmayr and Wichert Akkerman as holders of that distinction. A developer with Debian for some thirteen years, McIntyre knows the second-place slot well, having been runner-up in the 2006 and 2007 races. Had he not sought re-election or had another candidate prevailed, McIntyre would have left the position on April 17.

According to Debian Project Secretary Kurt Roeckx, some 361 unique voters, a 35.6% turnout, cast a total of 366 votes, down from 2008's 37.3% turnout, with 401 voters casting 425 votes. The best turnout, from the available figures, was 2005, when 504 voters cast 531 votes — the highest percentage turnout, however, belongs to 2000, when 62.2% (216) of the eligible voters cast votes.


Justin Ryan is a Contributing Editor for Linux Journal.

White Paper
Linux Management with Red Hat Satellite: Measuring Business Impact and ROI

Linux has become a key foundation for supporting today's rapidly growing IT environments. Linux is being used to deploy business applications and databases, trading on its reputation as a low-cost operating environment. For many IT organizations, Linux is a mainstay for deploying Web servers and has evolved from handling basic file, print, and utility workloads to running mission-critical applications and databases, physically, virtually, and in the cloud. As Linux grows in importance in terms of value to the business, managing Linux environments to high standards of service quality — availability, security, and performance — becomes an essential requirement for business success.

Learn More

Sponsored by Red Hat

White Paper
Private PaaS for the Agile Enterprise

If you already use virtualized infrastructure, you are well on your way to leveraging the power of the cloud. Virtualization offers the promise of limitless resources, but how do you manage that scalability when your DevOps team doesn’t scale? In today’s hypercompetitive markets, fast results can make a difference between leading the pack vs. obsolescence. Organizations need more benefits from cloud computing than just raw resources. They need agility, flexibility, convenience, ROI, and control.

Stackato private Platform-as-a-Service technology from ActiveState extends your private cloud infrastructure by creating a private PaaS to provide on-demand availability, flexibility, control, and ultimately, faster time-to-market for your enterprise.

Learn More

Sponsored by ActiveState